top of page

A Guide To The Chakras

During energy sessions we work with the Chakra system so I thought I would write this quick guide to Chakras for those who are new to this!

What is a Chakra?

A Chakra is an energy centre, the 7 chakras work in unison to create life force energy. They are found down the core of the body, when they are balanced they benefit the body, mind and soul. Each chakra has its own symbol, colour and meaning. The term ‘Chakra’ is also Sanskrit for wheel. This refers to the spinning, spherical energy centre that makes up a chakra.

That energy is ancestrally known as ‘prana’, each chakra corresponds to a very specific area of the body. We have 7 main chakras which I focus on in this blog, I will write another looking at the others!

When chakras are balanced they spin steadily and in harmony, but when they are out of balance or spinning too fast or slow it can affect how we feel causing fatigue, low mood, or even illness.

Here’s a breakdown of the 7 main Chakras:

1. The Root ChakraMuladhara

Situated at the base of the spine

Colour – Red

Your Root Chakra is linked to everything you need to survive. This includes the act of breathing, eating, sleeping, and experiencing physical security.

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: feeling generally ungrounded and unsafe. In fear, anxiety, lack, and the ‘I don’t have enough’-ness mindset. Potential digestive upset

Root Chakra Affirmation......

''I am centred and grounded''

2 The Sacral ChakraSvadhisthana

Situated a couple of inches below the belly button

Colour – Orange

This chakra helps you enjoy your life here on Earth. It’s the energy that motivates you to enjoy the fruits of your labour. Above all, indulging in pleasurable activities like sex, artistic activities and good food.

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: feeling ‘zapped’ with little to no creativity or sex drive. Potential urinary/sexual/hormonal disturbances

Sacral Chakra Affirmation.....

''I am passionate about my life''

3. The Solar Plexus Chakra – Manipura

Found just above the belly button and below the ribs

Colour – Yellow

Many call the Solar Plexus chakra the ‘Warrior Chakra’ this is because this is by far the most powerful supporting chakra for bravery and boundary-setting.

For instance, you can most probably physically feel its raging energy when you feel angry. You’ll feel it when you need to defend yourself or go into fight or flight mode

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: feeling frustrated, weak-willed and insecure. Lacking self-esteem, confidence and personal power.

Solar Plexus Affirmations....

''I am confident in all that I do''

4. The Heart Chakra – Anahata

Around the heart space

Colour – Green This chakra is fundamentally just about love. Love is the most healing frequency of all. When your Heart Chakra is balanced, you are easily able to feel love and empathy for yourself and others.

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: hurt, grief, ‘heartbreak’, loneliness, disconnection, lack of compassion. Potential chest pain, heart-burn, heaviness and stooped posture

Heart Chakra Affirmation.....

''I love myself unconditionally''

5. The Throat Chakra – Vishuddha

Situated in the centre of the neck

Colour – Blue

This chakra is your official seat of self-expression. The Throat Chakra also gives a voice to your personal preferences, beliefs and values. When balanced, you openly and lovingly speak the truth you express yourself in whichever way feels most in alignment at any given time.

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Telling lies, little to no self-expression, fear of speaking up. Potential sore throat and stiffness in the neck

Throat Chakra Affirmation....

''I am open and honest in my communication''
6. The Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

Situated on the centre of the forehead

Colour – Purple

When your Third Eye is balanced, you’ll feel equally in tune with the physical and spiritual world. You’ll also be able to connect with both your ego and your soul.

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Stubbornness, narrow-mindedness and denial of the spiritual world. Lack of inner intuitive guidance. Potential headaches

Third Eye Affirmation.....

''I am insightful & intuitive''

7. The Crown Chakra – Sahasrara

Found at the top of your head

Colour – White/Violet

Connection to the Universe

Common Symptoms Of Blockage: Suffering ‘the human condition’. No connection to spirituality or ‘God’–in whatever way one defines the concept

Crown Chakra Affirmation.....

''I am one with all that is''

If you feel disconnected, tired, down or experiencing unexplained emotional or physical issues then it could be that your chakras need attention.

You can balance them by doing a chakra balancing meditation, eating foods and wearing clothes of the corresponding colour as well as using crystals and positive affirmations.

If you want to find out more, drop me an email -

I offer Healy Frequency Aura Scanning and Chakra Balancing Sessions, Crystal Healing Chakra Balancing and work with your chakras during energy alignment.

34 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page